Azitech

Azimout's Linux weblog

FJ Lifebook S7010

with 2 comments

I got the S7010D from work (some reviews here) and put Ubuntu 7.04 on it (after looking first at linlap.com, wiki.ubuntu.com, mathematicians.org.uk and icculus.org).

Graphics & sound worked without intervention. I made an effort to get the screen resolution to 1440×1050 following these instructions, but it was not possible, I think the LCD does not support higher resolutions…

The internal bluetooth & wifi adapters described in the specs are apparently not available in my machine (???). However, I got a D-Link DWL-AG660 (PCMCIA WiFi). I installed ‘ndiswrapper’ through Automatix. It says that it should appear under Applications -> System Tools, but actually it appears under System -> Administration as ‘Windows Wireless Drivers’. Then you need to point it to the Windows driver (NetA3AB), but I still got a “Hardware not present” message. After the upgrade to 7.10 though, it magically worked, as well as the 56k softmodem. Now, when I type ‘ndiswrapper -l’ I get:

neta3ab : driver installed
        device (168C:001B) present (alternate driver: ath_pci)

For the WiFi I installed GTKWifi (supposedly better than Wifi Radar), which is not available in the repositories… It doesn’t appear anywhere in the menus, you have to add it to the gnome panel as an applet.

Also, when using the docking station, power and ethernet work fine, but the usb ports did not… So I stopped using it…

The last fine-tuning was to disable the touchpad while typing. The instructions from here didn’t work as promised (and anyway, it should be “true” instead of “on”). I also installed GSynaptics, which puts an item in System->Preferences called “Touchpad”. When I click it, I get: GSynaptics couldn’t initialize. You have to set ‘SHMConfig’ ‘true’ in xorg.conf or XF86Config to use GSynaptics.” I also tried

cat /proc/bus/input/devices

as well as adding to xorg.conf in the “module” section

Load "synaptics"
Written by azimout

16/10/2007 at 14:43

Posted in Reference

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yesteray I came across this, followed the instructions, but qsynaptics for the touchpad is still not working….
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=472021

    azimout

    17/11/2007 at 14:23

  2. I should try getting the wifi to work with http://madwifi.org/

    azimout

    17/01/2008 at 14:48


Leave a Reply

