Azitech

Azimout's Linux weblog

Cleaning up your installation

leave a comment »

After reading a useful article about from the FreeSoftwareMagazine, I started removing some packets that are not necessary (not that I need the space, but I’m a neat guy 🙂

At first I went through the Applications menu and looked a bit closer at what I might use and what not, which lead me to remove:

sudo apt-get remove evolution f-spot gthumb xcdroast serpentine tomboy rhythmbox --purge

Then I replaced sound-juicer with grip because grip uses freedb to get disc information.

Finally, I installed deborphan and ran

sudo apt-get clean
sudo apt-get autoclean
sudo apt-get autoremove
sudo apt-get remove --purge $(deborphan)
Written by azimout

30/10/2007 at 11:12

Posted in Tricks

Leave a Reply

