Azitech

Azimout's Linux weblog

diff gui

leave a comment »

I wanted to compare two MSWord documents. I didn’t know about OO.o Writer’s “Compare Documents” feature (under the Edit menu), so the idea was to compare the ascii text.

I wanted to avoid actually saving to text files (too lazy), but I found no program that lets you just paste the text. I also looked at all the different guis (all based on gnu’s diff command line tool): fldiff, tkdiff, xfdiff, mgdiff were rather ugly, so they were immediately removed. Also, tkdiff was the only one adding an entry in Gnome’s Applications menu (under Programming), for the others I had to enter a command.

I also discovered that “aptitude search ___” searches only the names of the packages, not the descriptions (that’s why it didn’t give me “meld”, which is the one I liked the most, and finally kept).

Powered by ScribeFire.

Written by azimout

03/01/2008 at 10:48

Posted in Howto

Leave a Reply

