Azitech

Azimout's Linux weblog

apm: bios not found

leave a comment »

APM is a legacy standard superseded by ACPI (Windows Vista has dropped support for APM).

However, Linux seems to keep trying to detect it; in my kernel log I see “apm: BIOS not found”. I tried the “apm=off” kernel boot parameter (as described here), but to no avail…

If I type grep -i apm /boot/config-`uname -r` I get:

CONFIG_APM=m
# CONFIG_APM_ALLOW_INTS is not set
# CONFIG_APM_CPU_IDLE is not set
# CONFIG_APM_DISPLAY_BLANK is not set
# CONFIG_APM_DO_ENABLE is not set
# CONFIG_APM_IGNORE_USER_SUSPEND is not set
# CONFIG_APM_REAL_MODE_POWER_OFF is not set
CONFIG_X86_APM_BOOT=y

Then, I found out I have the apmd package installed, and that it’s started as a service (look under /etc/rc*.d or /etc/init.d). Still, running apm (the client) gives me No APM support in kernel

So the solution was to just purge apmd.

Written by azimout

09/01/2009 at 16:39

Posted in Problems

Leave a Reply

