Azitech

Azimout's Linux weblog

Cannot shut down / reboot Ubuntu system

leave a comment »

Since a few weeks now, I couldn’t shut down or reboot my system the normal way (i.e. from the menu on the top right corner): it would act like I’d told it to log out and bring me to the log in screen (lightdm). The error message in /var/log/syslog was:

gnome-session: WARNING: Unable to stop system: Authorization is required

(which is something you normally get when another non-system user is logged in). As a workaround I would just switch to a virtual terminal (Ctrl-Alt-F1), log in and type sudo shutdown -p now.

Tonight I thought I’d spend some time to find out what the problem was, and I did. Turns out, it was an upstart service I had added recently (Etherpad), and this is the guilty upstart script. For now I commented out the “start on” and “stop on” lines and added the word “manual”, which still allows me to sudo service etherpad start/stop but doesn’t autostart the service and as a bonus, allows for smooth system shutdowns 🙂

Written by azimout

09/02/2013 at 23:23

Posted in Problems

Leave a Reply

