Azitech

Azimout's Linux weblog

Upgrade to CM11

leave a comment »

After freeing my Android a year ago, I decided to upgrade to a more up-to-date version of Android/CyanogenMod.

At first I upgraded from CM 10.1 to 10.2; however, many Google apps gave me a “cannot contact Google servers” error (mainly GMail, Google Calendar and Google Play; Maps worked fine).

I tried reinstalling the gapps .apk, I tried clearing the cache, I tried a factory reset and reinstalling CM. Nothing seemed to work. In the end, thanks to some forum thread I realized that maybe it does not work when you have 2-step authentication for your Google account (the authentication itself seemed to succeed on the phone, but then the sync services failed).

So, eventually I decided to try to upgrade to CM 11 nightly. The new problem was that the disk image would fail to install (some error about a get_metadata_recursive method). After some googling I realized that I needed a newer version of the ClockworkMod recovery, 6.0.2.3 just wouldn’t cut it. So I downloaded 6.0.4.6 and heimdall and tried flashing it, which also didn’t work (error message: no recovery partition found).

The solution was to install Rommanager and upgrade the CWM recovery from there. After that, I could install CM 11 and the corresponding Gapps, and now everything seems to work fine.

Written by azimout

02/03/2014 at 08:41

Posted in Problems

Leave a Reply

