Azitech

Azimout's Linux weblog

LXDE

with 5 comments

I discovered LXDE a few hours ago, and I’ve already made it my default desktop environment. I have got yet everything the way I like it, but I’m getting there… Here are some notes:

  • the clock format I like for my digital clock is %d.%m.%Y %T
  • startup apps for all users are inside /etc/xdg/lxsession/LXDE/autostart
  • user-specific startup apps are separate .desktop files under ~/.config/autostart
  • add keyboard shortcuts to the main configuration file ~/.config/openbox/lxde-rc.xml like this (inside the <keyboard> element:
  <!-- Azimout's launchers -->
  <keybind key="A-C-1">
      <action name="Execute">
          <command>firefox</command>
      </action>
  </keybind>
    <keybind key="A-C-2">
      <action name="Execute">
          <command>thunderbird</command>
      </action>
  </keybind>
  <keybind key="A-C-T">
      <action name="Execute">
          <command>terminator</command>
      </action>
  </keybind>
  <keybind key="A-C-C">
      <action name="Execute">
          <command>gcalctool</command>
      </action>
  </keybind>
  <keybind key="A-C-E">
      <action name="Execute">
          <command>pcmanfm</command>
      </action>
  </keybind>
  • to re-enable keyboard layout switching, add this to your startup:
@setxkbmap -option grp:switch,grp:alt_shift_toggle,lv3:ralt,eurosign:e us,el

UPDATE:

One week later, 17.02.2009, I’m switching back to Gnome. The speed was nice, but I missed some things, like Nautilus, or some panel applets. However, the version in Intrepid is old (0.3.2.1) while at lxde.org there’s 0.4.8.6, so I might give it a try again in the future…

Written by azimout

10/02/2009 at 18:28

Posted in Reference

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m always a bit sceptical about these ‘faster’ environments. Isn’t exactly what XFCE promised? It wasn’t that much faster and all advantages were gone, when you started some Gnome-app, because it loaded the whole Gnome subsystem .. I will try it nonetheless.

    mattis

    11/02/2009 at 13:28

  2. Hi Mattis, thanx for stopping by.

    I’m using all the normal Gnome apps (e.g. Evince) but they still load much much faster (don’t ask me why). Anyway, I would be interested if you post your opinion here after you’ve tried it…

    Right now I’m trying to find a way to put the gnome-system-monitor panel applet (multiload) on the lxpanel :-/

    Good luck

    azimout

    11/02/2009 at 13:36

  3. nice tips on the autostart and clock applet. thx for posting!

    Btw, r u still sticking to lxde? I’ve been using it myself for sometime but I find it’s hacky nature a bit annoying and non pratical. By this mean having to edit text files to achieve simple things, after of course the obligatory googling…
    That’s how I landed here btw. lol

    anonymousbloke

    25/02/2009 at 00:59

  4. As you can see from the last paragraph of the post, I have now switched back to Gnome…

    azimout

    25/02/2009 at 09:47

  5. Since you mentioned lxde in your “.desktop” post, I thought maybe you’d changed your mind. No harm done : -p

    anonymousbloke

    25/02/2009 at 17:57


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.